The first settlement at the territory of modern Kulebakskiy district has appeared in the 16th century among the Mordovan settlements and it has been called Shiloksha, chroniclers’ records of Kazan campaign of Ivan the Awesome witness it. The name of the city Kulebaki origins from the words “kulei” and “baki” that means “beehives” and “vessels” because local population has been dealing with beekeeping. The population has been dealing with hunting, different crafts, connected with woodworking, up to the middle of the 18th century due to the absence of fertile lands. The metallurgical plant has been built here on the local ore in the 60-ies of the 19th century, the plant is then specialised in making steel, bar iron and flat rolled products, rails, leaf springs. The plant of metallic structures is functioning in the city as well.
There are many unique places of interest in Kulebakskiy district: it is forest-park preserved area “Barskiy dvor” and Cathedral Holy Mandylion of Edessa, located in the back wood, and Trinity temple, built as per the project of Nizhni Novgorod architect A.L. Leer by the peasants of villages Teplova, Lomovki and Shilokshi in 1840 and the temples - one in honor of the Icon of Our Lady of Kazan, the other - in honor of Enlightener and Wonderworker Nicholas.
The interesting in terms of architecture building - People’s house, the monument of wooden architecture, is situated in the city Kulebaki itself. Local residents call it “Teremok” with love. It is the real wooden spired chamber with fretworks, unusual windows and interesting facade of the building. It is built as tsar’s (imperial) pavilion of the Nizhni Novgorod All-Russian trading-industrial and artistic exhibition of 1896, when it ended, it has been transported to Kulebaki.