Lyskovo is located in a picturesque place on the right banks of the Volga River, 90 kilometers from Nizhny Novgorod. The first time Lysovo was mentioned was as the Sundovik river fortress, founded to protect the Russian people from the Tatar invasion. Since the 17th century, Lyskovo became the patrimonial estate of the Gruzinsky Princes. Georgy Gruzinsky left a great heritage for the town. He built cathedrals that have survived to this day: The Saint George Cathedral (1814) and the Ascension Church (1830). The family vault of the Gruzinsky Princes became the Transfiguration Cathedral (17th century).
The local craft started developing rapidly at the beginning of the 17th century. This was possible because Lyskovo was located close to the famous Makaryev Fair, which contributed to the development of the crafts’ evolution. A large collection of the Lyskovo craftsmen’s works is exhibited in the Local History Museum, which is situated in the Kudryavtsev mansion. Pottery, wicker, minting and forging is still flourishing here.
Across the Volga River from Lyskovo, on the left bank is the Makaryev Monastery. It is sometimes called “the pearl of the Nizhny Novgorod region” and “a white swan on the banks of Volga”.
In 1435, in the Trans-Volga region, on the banks of picturesque Yellow Lake, not far from the Kerzhenets River mouth, a monk of the Nizhny Novgorod Pechyorsky Monastery named Macarius build the first room of the mighty future monastery. Four years later, the convent was burnt and devastated by the Tatars. Macarius was taken prisoner but later released after he promised not to restore the monastery in the same location.
Macarius left for Kostroma forest and founded another monastery on the Unzha River. However pilgrims secretly came to the former Volga monastery on the Yellow Lake to pray over the remains of the martyred monks. In those days, the legend was born connecting the hidden town of Kitezh under the waters of Svetloyar Lake and the Yellow Waters Convent, that was destroyed by the Tatars.
The history of the monastery in Makaryev, resumed in 1620 with the help of Abraham, who came from the town of Murom. The main monastery buildings were constructed relatively quickly – from 1652 to 1667. The monastery became a spiritual and economic center. The monastery was located on the Volga trade route that met vessels sailing downstream from the mouth of the Volga. That’s why it was here that the famous Makaryev monastery was established. A powerful fortress was built to protect the monastery and the fair. Its walls were as high as 8 meters. On the south side, facing the river, the main entrance was made: the Holy Gates with a gateway Church of the Archangel St Michael. In the center of the monastery complex is the Trinity Cathedral built in 1658. On its walls are frescos of the 17th century.
The Makaryev Monastery of the Holy Trinity is one of the most famous Volga monasteries. The relics of St Macarius of Yellow Waters are kept here, which are believed to give luck in business.
Many famous orthodox figures came out of this monastery, including the Patriarch Nikon and the Old Believers’ ideologist Avvakum,.
In Makaryev, there is the private Fominy museum. Next to the village, an ostrich farm and many recreation centers are located.